Double Tap/ Sprint toggle BF3

Post Reply
mvanish
Posts: 2
Joined: 04 Sep 2012, 04:01

Double Tap/ Sprint toggle BF3

Post by mvanish »

I am basically looking for a way to double tap the W key on the left stick of my controller so that i may sprint with the press of the left stick. I am new to xpadder and not very adept at using it but I have tried putting shift on the left stick and a timer delay so that I may tap W. Neither seem to work well enough. Using the toggle shift method allows you to sprint but after u stop running you have to toggle it off and than on again to start sprinting. I can't seem to come up with a solution and haven't found anything on this forum previously. Any help with this fix?

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Double Tap/ Sprint toggle BF3

Post by Primal Fear »

This should do it. You can start sprinting by tapping the left stick button one and when you release the stick direction sprinting is off again.

Code: Select all

;--- Xpadder Profile Data ---
DataType=Profile
Version=2012.05.01
Name=
Set1Button9SetSelect=1
Set1Stick1UpSlots=W
Set1Stick1RightSlots=D
Set1Stick1DownSlots=S
Set1Stick1LeftSlots=A
Set2Button9Slots=TAP TIME 0.02s,PAUSE 0.02s,W,PAUSE 0.02s
Set2Button9SetSelect=0

mvanish
Posts: 2
Joined: 04 Sep 2012, 04:01

Re: Double Tap/ Sprint toggle BF3

Post by mvanish »

Thank for trying to help but this did not to work. I'm really trying to get sprint to behave like how it behaves with an xbox where you run by pressing down on the joystiq (button 9) without having to hold down on sprint.

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Double Tap/ Sprint toggle BF3

Post by Primal Fear »

Actually it should work this way, I think that the key press time and the pauses of only 0.02s are too short. Moreover you were probably stuck in Set2, otherwise you wouldn't have been moving at all while holding the left stick button.
Try this version, the key tap time and pauses are now 0.05s and to prevent the Set problem I have used this workaround:

Code: Select all

;--- Xpadder Profile Data ---
DataType=Profile
Version=2012.05.01
Name=
Set1Button9Toggle=1
Set1Button9Turbo=1
Set1Button9TurboRate=2
Set1Button9SetSelect=1
Set1Stick1UpSlots=W
Set1Stick1RightSlots=D
Set1Stick1DownSlots=S
Set1Stick1LeftSlots=A
Set2Button9Slots=TAP TIME 0.05s,PAUSE 0.05s,W,PAUSE 0.05s
Set2Button9Toggle=1
Set2Button9SetSelect=0

crystar
Posts: 8
Joined: 26 Feb 2013, 18:41

Re: Double Tap/ Sprint toggle BF3

Post by crystar »

Primal Fear wrote:Actually it should work this way, I think that the key press time and the pauses of only 0.02s are too short. Moreover you were probably stuck in Set2, otherwise you wouldn't have been moving at all while holding the left stick button.
Try this version, the key tap time and pauses are now 0.05s and to prevent the Set problem I have used this workaround:

Code: Select all

;--- Xpadder Profile Data ---
DataType=Profile
Version=2012.05.01
Name=
Set1Button9Toggle=1
Set1Button9Turbo=1
Set1Button9TurboRate=2
Set1Button9SetSelect=1
Set1Stick1UpSlots=W
Set1Stick1RightSlots=D
Set1Stick1DownSlots=S
Set1Stick1LeftSlots=A
Set2Button9Slots=TAP TIME 0.05s,PAUSE 0.05s,W,PAUSE 0.05s
Set2Button9Toggle=1
Set2Button9SetSelect=0
Hello Primal!

I play Dungeon Fighter Online- which is a Megaman / Streets of Rage style game. I too am having an issue simulating 1-button [hold] Dash/Sprint. Is this macro valid for using arrow keys instead of W,D,S,A?

To dash instead of walk, I must manually press Forward > Forward (Back > Back). Since I must run 100% of the time in PVP, this can get annoying. I simply want to macro the 2 arrow key presses into a macro.

I assigned this command for when I hold 'Forward' on the left Analog stick: Image
And boy let me tell you, my character went buck wild CRAZY. lol
Basically my character will instant dash, stop, dash, stop (repeat) for as along as I have the analog stick held down. So I'm guessing a script like the one above is the only way to get this to work properly.

Help please! :D

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Double Tap/ Sprint toggle BF3

Post by Primal Fear »

Yes it would work the same way with arrow key. But when you need it for forward and backward, you need to change the set when moving the stick to on direction to change to a own set when tapping the stick for each direction.

But if you anyways only want to sprint, how about this:

Code: Select all

;--- Xpadder Profile Data ---
DataType=Profile
Version=2012.12.02
Name=(Untitled profile)
Set1Stick1UpSlots=Arrow Up,HOLD ZONE 0.02s,HOLD ZONE 0.02s,Arrow Up
Set1Stick1RightSlots=Arrow Right
Set1Stick1DownSlots=Arrow Down,HOLD ZONE 0.02s,HOLD ZONE 0.02s,Arrow Down
Set1Stick1LeftSlots=Arrow Left

crystar
Posts: 8
Joined: 26 Feb 2013, 18:41

Re: Double Tap/ Sprint toggle BF3

Post by crystar »

Primal Fear wrote:Yes it would work the same way with arrow key. But when you need it for forward and backward, you need to change the set when moving the stick to on direction to change to a own set when tapping the stick for each direction.

But if you anyways only want to sprint, how about this:

Code: Select all

;--- Xpadder Profile Data ---
DataType=Profile
Version=2012.12.02
Name=(Untitled profile)
Set1Stick1UpSlots=Arrow Up,HOLD ZONE 0.02s,HOLD ZONE 0.02s,Arrow Up
Set1Stick1RightSlots=Arrow Right
Set1Stick1DownSlots=Arrow Down,HOLD ZONE 0.02s,HOLD ZONE 0.02s,Arrow Down
Set1Stick1LeftSlots=Arrow Left

Should the left analog direction look like this? Image
Because if so, its not working. I cannot dash up or down, only Left and Right Dashing, as its a sidescroll game.

I'm not using any Toggles, or Set Selectors... Should I be?

crystar
Posts: 8
Joined: 26 Feb 2013, 18:41

Re: Double Tap/ Sprint toggle BF3

Post by crystar »

Nevermind, its working now. I had to set it from .02 to .05

Post Reply

Return to “How do I do this combo/sequence?”