Problems using Joystick in Mafia II for driving.

doane

Problems using Joystick in Mafia II for driving.

Post by doane »

I have a Thrustmaster T16000M joystick that I enjoy using in games like Test Drive Unlimited and older Need for Speed games where I have it set up with the X axis for steering and the Y axis for acceleration and braking. It works fine and it works fine with flight simulations I have like Combat Flight Simulator II, Rise of Flight, Wings of Prey, and with the old Mafia I version before while driving. But I can't get it to work well with Mafia II. I tried using it using the free JoytoKey program, and now with Xpadder and they can be assigned the key inputs for car driving to the sticks X and Y axis but they are way to sensitive, especially the steering which is almost impossible to control, even with dead zones set up.
I tried using the X-Box360 programs, including the newest 2.0.2.94 version and with them, the steering with the joystick is OK, but I can't assign the acceleration to the Y axis, I have to use buttons on the stick.
I tried using the X-box360 programs in conjunction with using Xpadder for just the acceleration on the Y axis assigned to the up and down arrows or to the W and S keys (either one). Then I have a strange problem.. the steering works smoothly, but from a stand still, if I turn right or left and try to accelerate, the car won't move, I can only accelerate while not turning the wheel until I get moving to about 10 MPH, then turning is OK and acceleration is OK. But if I use the buttons on the stick that the X-box360 has assigned the acceleration works from a stand still with no problem.
I also noticed in Xpadder that when I tried to set up my stick it says it is not analog so I have tried also to use a Dpad setting. I tried that and I have the same problems of not being able to start moving with the wheel turned left or right while using the Y movement for acceleration forward or backward.

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert