New user - just bought Xpadder. Norton 360 quarantined the file immediately. Anyone else? Advice?

stephensean

New user - just bought Xpadder. Norton 360 quarantined the file immediately. Anyone else? Advice?

Post by stephensean »

Norton immediately quarantined the xpadder.exe - it failed something called ws.reputation.1

They imply that this happened because of a large (or some) number of user reports that the file is infected. But - I am wondering if it is simply that it is an unknown file.
Naturally the two are very different - if several users have encountered viruses or malware, that's clearly a bad thing. If they don't know about it - well, that is curious since Jonathan's download process mentions that 2 million users have downloaded xpadder.

I'm not a noob - in fact I'm a developer. Ideally the file would be signed, he'd use a sec cert or something. As it is, well - until I got a couple games that don't explicitly support a controller, I'd never heard of Xpadder myself. I mean no offense, this is not intended to be inflammatory. I simply get a bit nervous when Norton quarantines a file.

Cheers and thanks for any reasonable thoughts on this ;-)

** EDIT - 2013-06-15 - I ran a malwarebytes scan against the .exe and (surprise) no issues were found. I think Jonathan may want to get it whitelisted by Norton (am I really the only one who's ever bought it that uses Norton? Please - no philosophical discussion of a/v programs. Norton is no longer the hog it once was, IMFAO. It works for me, although implying that a file has a "bad user rep" because they've never heard of it is definitely Bull***t, I admit - and it pisses me off. CHEERS (btw, I do use malwarebytes alongside norton 360 - which is free for me and one reason I use it...)

stephensean

Re: New user - just bought Xpadder. Norton 360 quarantined the file immediately. Anyone else? Adv

Post by stephensean »

Seems appropriate to post separately.