Is this legal etc.

FullofQs

Is this legal etc.

Post by FullofQs »

Hi,

I was wondering if this there would be any legal problems if I use the licensed xpadder (or package it for distribution) in some application that I create?

Would this in anyway attract legal action from the OEM creating the controllers or gaming systems?

E.g. if I use it to make the M$ controller work with my PC app / game, would this be an improper use of the controller? Will there be any issues with the OEM's later?

TIA

SGTCableDog
Xpadder Xpert

Re: Is this legal etc.

Post by SGTCableDog »

I'm not a lawyer but I will speak as if I know what I'm talking about. 8-)
FullofQs wrote:I was wondering if this there would be any legal problems if I use the licensed xpadder (or package it for distribution) in some application that I create?
You can use your licensed copy of Xpadder with an application you create for personal use. You must contact Jonathan if you wish to include Xpadder with your application. If your application does something illegal, it does so without Xpadder as an accomplice.
FullofQs wrote:Would this in anyway attract legal action from the OEM creating the controllers or gaming systems?
I don't see why it would. As long as you don't use it outside of its user agreement (who reads these anyway). You buy a controller, load its driver on to the computer. It provides DirectX or XInput data to Windows. These data can be used by any program that supports this method of input. Xpadder read DirectX and XInput from Windows, it doesn't bypass any Windows APIs, it uses Windows standard. Xpadder doesn't even try to fool Windows in thinking its a hardware device.
FullofQs wrote:E.g. if I use it to make the M$ controller work with my PC app / game, would this be an improper use of the controller? Will there be any issues with the OEM's later?